A new law in the state of California requires hoverboard riders to be at least 16 years of age to use the devices in public. The law, AB 604, also requires riders to don a helmet, and they can only operate their hoverboards on streets with speed limits of under 35 miles per hour. Violating the law could result in a $250 fine. The same fine could also apply to someone who is caught HUI, hoverboarding under the influence.
Parents Feel the Law Is Too Much
Many parents feel that the law is too stringent, and lawmakers are out of touch.
One mother who bought her 14-year-old son a hoverboard for his birthday said, "It's too new for whoever put these laws in place, and I don't think they put in enough effort into seeing what they were and what they're all about." The woman wanted to buy a hoverboard for her 10-year-old daughter, too, but with the new California law in place, she decided not to. She said that the law is frustrating.
CHP Will Be Enforcing the New Legislation
The California Highway Patrol (CHP) plans to enforce the new legislation. According officers, the law will help protect young riders from getting hurt on their hoverboards. The CHP says that it will first keep its focus on educating the public about the new law, and then it will move into issuing traffic tickets. Police say that they understand how the law could frustrate parents, but they are hoping that the public will show patience and adherence to the legislation.
A CHP officer said to reporters, "We're going to be new out there enforcing these laws and we're going to kind of see how it goes for us as well."
Just because you are issued a traffic ticket does not mean that you have to accept it. Many people are able to fight traffic tickets in court to defend themselves against the allegations police have brought against them. By consulting with a criminal defense attorney, people who have traffic tickets may be able to get their charges reversed.
Bankruptcy – Business
Bankruptcy – Personal
Criminal Law – Appellate
Criminal Law – Federal
Criminal Law – State Felony & Misdemeanor
Drunk Driving Defense
Dumb or Weird Laws
GM Ignition Switch
Stryker Hip Replacement
Intellectual Property Law
Labor & Employment Law
Landlord Tenant Law
Personal Injury – Defendant
Personal Injury – Plaintiff
Social Security Disability
Weird Law Friday
Trending Searches#TBT #ThrowbackThursday constitutional law Criminal Law - State Felony & Misdemeanor dangerous or defective products divorce DUI dumb laws estate planning Events that Changed History Family Law FAQ first-amendment product-recall products liability random laws recall safety recall strange laws weird laws