In line with last weeks post, I will continue our true or false edition of weird laws across the country. Last week we saw some very weird laws from Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, and California. Let’s see what weird laws these next 5 states have in store for us!

True or False:

Colorado

“It is illegal to collect rainwater in Colorado”

FALSE.  However, before June 2009, this was actually true. It used to be illegal to capture rainwater and use it. For example, if you wanted to use a gutter to collect rainwater from your roof to water your plants, you would be in violation of the law. The theory was that the rainwater belonged to “someone else” from the moment it fell. Luckily for Colorado residents, this law is no longer as strict as it used to be. The residents can now collect rainwater for their personal use… However, as usual, certain conditions must be met.

Connecticut

“It is illegal for any beautician to hum, whistle, or sing while working on a customer.”

TRUE. In Waterbury, Connecticut it is illegal for a beautician to hum, whistle, or sing while working on a customer. Perhaps this law was enacted because beauticians in Waterbury have pretty bad voices? Just kidding! If you have a better idea as to why this law was enacted, opinions are welcome!

 Delaware

“It is illegal to change your clothes in your car.”

TRUE. In Rehoboth Beach, Delaware it is illegal to change your clothes in your vehicle. The law basically prohibits people from changing in their vehicle while the vehicle is on a public street. I guess this law was enacted to avoid indecent exposure. Citizens of Delaware should probably avoid San Francisco, CA where it’s legal to be naked in public.

Florida

“It is illegal for unmarried couples to commit “lewd acts” and live together.”

TRUE. According to Florida Statute 798.02- Lewd and lascivious behavior, “if any man and woman, not married to each other, lewdly associate and cohabit together, they shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree and face penalties of $500 in fines and up to 60 days in jail.” However, this law is probably not enforced today, as there are thousands of unmarried Floridians who live together.

Georgia

“It is illegal to sell two beers for the price of one.”

TRUE. In Athens-Clarke County, Georgia, no bar may sell two or more alcoholic beverages for the price of one. Perhaps this was enacted to limit the amount of alcohol the residents of Athens-Clarke County consume in one sitting, or at least not make it easier for them to drink more.  The less they consume, the less rowdy they are, the fewer bars fights!

 

Are there any weird laws that you thought were false but ended up being true?

Facebook
Twitter