In line with our weekly blogs of weird laws across the nation, let’s continue our true or false edition of weird laws.  Last week we saw some strange laws from New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Ohio.  Let’s see what weird laws these next 5 states have in store for us!

True or False:

Oklahoma

“It is illegal for the owner of a bar to allow anyone inside to pretend to have sex with a buffalo.”

TRUE.  That’s just weird.  What’s more weird is that the state legislators actually had to come up with such a bizarre law.  According to the law, it is illegal for the owner, operator, partner, or manager of any commercial establishment with a license to sell intoxicating beverages to permit anyone from conducting acts of sexual intercourse, masturbation, sodomy, bestiality, oral copulation, or flagellation on their commercial premises.

Oregon

“An adult may not show a minor any piece of classical artwork which depicts sexual excitement.”

TRUE.  Based on Oregon law, a person is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if they furnish obscene materials to minors.  If they knowingly furnish “any picture, photograph, drawing, sculpture, motion picture, film or other visual representation or image of a person or portion of the human body that depicts nudity, sadomasochistic abuse, sexual conduct or sexual excitement” they will be fined up to $10,000.  Art teachers in Oregon should probably think twice before sharing one of Picasso’s nude paintings.

Pennsylvania

“It is illegal to sleep on top of a refrigerator outdoors.”

NOT SURE.  Hmmmm… If this law is in fact true, someone must have actually slept on his or her refrigerator in order for the state legislator to feel compelled to enact this law.  What are your thoughts on this weird law?

Rhode Island

“Riding a horse over any public highway for the purpose of racing, or testing the speed of the horse is illegal.”

TRUE.  Based on the law, a person who rides a horse over any public highway, for the purpose of racing or trying the speed of the horse, will be imprisoned for up to 10 days or fined up to $20.  There must be limited spaces available for racing horses at the racetracks in Rhode Island.

South Carolina

“Fortune tellers are required to obtain a special permit from the state.”

TRUE.  According to the law, it is illegal for a person to partake in the business of fortunetelling in any of the counties of South Carolina without first obtaining a license permitting him or her to do so.  The license will be good for a period of one year from its issuance.  A person in violation of this provision will be guilty of a misdemeanor and will be fined up to $100 or imprisoned up to 30 days for each offense.

You’ll have to wait until next week for more weird laws from the next 5 states!  Are there any weird laws that you thought were false but ended up being true?